Bacteriology Laboratory

 

 Editor de Conteúdo

 
Lab Supervisor

Waldir Pereira Elias Junior – waldir.elias@butantan.gov.br

Lab Researchers
Alessandra Soares Schanoski - alessandra.schanoski@ butantan.gov.br
Angela Silva Barbosa – angela.barbosa@butantan.gov.br
Cecilia Mari Abe​ - cecilia.abe@butantan.gov.br
Denise Silvina Piccini Quintas Horton – denise.horton@butantan.gov.br
Eliane Namie Miyaji - eliane.miyaji@ butantan.gov.br
Enéas de Carvalho - eneas.carvalho@ butantan.gov.br
Josefa Bezerra da Silva -  josefa.silva@ butantan.gov.br
Marcia Regina Franzolin – marcia.franzolin@butantan.gov.br
Maria Leonor Sarno de Oliveira ​- marialeonor.oliveira@butantan.gov.br​
Marta de Oliveira Domingos – marta.domingos@butantan.gov.br
Martha Harumi Sonobe – martha.sonobe@butantan.gov.br
Monamaris Marques Borges – monamaris.borges@butantan.gov.br
Patrícia Antônia Estima de Abreu Aniz - patricia.aniz@butantan.gov.br
Rita de Cássia Ruiz – rita.ruiz@butantan.gov.br
Roxane Maria Fontes Piazza – roxane.piazza@butantan.gov.br​​

general objective of the unit

Bacteriology Laboratory's research areas converge on the collaborative effort of elucidating the pathogenesis and host response in infections caused by Leptospira spp., Bordetella spp., Streptococcus pneumoniae and diarrheagenic categories of Escherichia coli through the study of virulence factor characteristics, mechanisms for pathogenicity and the phenotypic and molecular classification of these pathogens, which serve as the basis for vaccine development projects and kits used for the diagnosis of the infections that they cause. Considered emergent, these bacterial pathogens are of great importance in terms of our current public health issues

 

research areas

The main research area revolves around the characterization of secreted and structural virulence factors, and on the clarification of the pathogenicity mechanisms of these bacteria. These different factors are used in pathogenicity studies for their vaccine and immunogenic potential as well as for the molecular diagnosis and for the production of antibodies (polyclonal, monoclonal and recombinant) for use in immunodiagnostics. Different aspects of the interaction between these pathogens and their hosts are studied by addressing the mechanisms for adhesion to epithelial cells, extracellular matrix and professional and nonprofessional phagocytes. Natural immune mechanisms that participate in the inflammatory response and the evasion from the host's immune system are also characterized. The group also develops studies on antimicrobial and immunomodulation activities of isolated substances in bioprospecting projects.